Lukoil and Rosneft in new Norwegian licensing round

A total of 36 companies are applying for new Norwegian licenses. Two of them are Russian.

Two Russian applicants among the 36 bidders for new field licenses in the Norwegian and Barents Seas.


The Lukoil Oil Company is among the applicants for the new 72 new blocks in the Barents Sea and 14 blocks in the Norwegian Sea announced in the 22nd Norwegian License Round, a press release from the Ministry of Petroleum and Energy reads. The company, Russia’s biggest privately owned oil producer and first ever Russian company to take on Norwegian waters, earlier this year established a Norwegian office and teamed up with two Norwegian and one Swedish company as part of its project preparations. 

Rosneft, which is also about to step onto the Norwegian shelf, is on the list of applicants through its subsudiary RN Nordic Oil AS.

As previously reported, Rosneft will together with Statoil seek to engage on the Norwegian shelf as part of the two companies’ comprehensive cooperation agreement signed in early May this year. The deal includes joint evaluation of Norwegian fields, which “constitute a part of the two companies’ zone of joint interest” and an ambition to jointly take part in field tenders. The Russian company will get 33,33 percent stakes in the joint ventures.

As previously reported, the company early announced its intention to take part in the 22nd Norwegian Licensing Round.

The applicants for the license round are the following: Atlantic Petroleum AS, AS Norske Shell, Bayerngas Norge AS, BG Norge AS, BP Norge AS, Centrica Resources Norge AS, Concedo ASA, ConocoPhillips Skandinavia AS, Dana Petroleum Norway AS, Det norske oljeselskap ASA, Dong E&P Norge AS, E.ON E&P Norge AS, Edison International SpA, Eni Norge AS, Faroe Petroleum Norge AS, GDF SUEZ E&P Norge AS, Idemitsu Petroleum Norge AS, Lukoil Oil Company, Lundin Norway AS, Maersk Oil Norway AS, Moeco Oil & Gas Norge AS, North Energy ASA, OMV Norge AS, PGNiG Norway AS, Repsol Exploration Norge AS, Rocksource ASA, RN Nordic Oil AS, RWE Dea Norge AS, Skagen44 AS, Spring Energy Norway AS, Statoil Petroleum AS, Suncor Energy Norge AS, Total E&P Norge AS, Tullow Oil, Valiant Petroleum and Wintershall Norge ASA.

When offers are sent to the companies in the spring of 2013, the Ministry will announce which blocks have been awarded to which companies, along with the associated timetables, the Ministry informs.