25 years of Schengen cooperation

Today marks the 25-year anniversary of the Schengen Agreement.


Since its adoption by Germany and the Nethernlands on 14 June 1985, the Schengen Agreement has grown to include a total of 25 states. The agreement has greatly contributed to traveling conditions in Europe, but has at the same time become a wall separating the EU and its neighbors in the East. Both Russia and other non-EU members now vigorously negotiate facilitated traveling conditions with the Union. The Schengen border-free zone today consists EU countries Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Finland, Germany, Greece, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia, as well as the three associated non-EU countries, Norway, Iceland and Switzerland.