High North tour for Arctic Council

The Russian Security Council invites the other Arctic Council member states to some of the country’s northernmost places.


Representatives from Arctic Council member states are going on an Arctic tour in April. They will meet in the Russian town of Salekhard and from there travel to the world’s northernmost border guard station – Nagurskoye on Franz Josef Land, and to the floating North Pole station Barneo.

As BarentsObserver reported, Russia is about to open this season’s Barneo base.

Russia will be represented by Secretary of the Russian Security Council Nikolay Patrushev, Special Presidential Aide on Arctic and Antarctic Affairs Artur Chilingarov, Ambassador-at-large for Russia’s involvement in the Barents regional cooperation Anton Vasilyev and several deputy ministers.

After the meeting Salekhard will host an international conference on ecological safety in the Arctic, the Security Council’s web site reads.

The Arctic Council member states are USA, Canada, Denmark, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, Finland and Russia.

Watch video from Nagurskoye (in Russian)